Our Team

Campus Climate, Community Engagement & Transformation 

Mia Settles-Tidwell
Assistant Vice Chancellor/Chief of Staff 
Division of Equity & Inclusion 
mia.tidwell@berkeley.edu

Mia Settles-Tidwell is the Assistant Vice Chancellor/ Chief of Staff to the Division of Equity & Inclusion. Mia is a proud graduate of the University of California, Berkeley with a B.A. in Social Welfare, a Masters of Educational Leadership from CSUEB, and is pursuing the completion of her doctorate in Educational Leadership and Social Justice. Mia is known for her social justice, equity and advocacy work for underserved and disenfranchised communities. With over 25 years of educational leadership experience, Mia has pushed systems to examine inequitable practices, create equitable policies, broaden access, and remove barriers to educate underrepresented communities. Mia exemplifies an unwavering commitment to use her position of influence to elevate the voices of those who have been silenced and marginalized, while fostering strong cultural, racial, and social partnerships amongst diverse groups.

Organizational Chart

AFRICAN AMERICAN STUDENT DEVELOPMENT

Takiyah Jackson
Interim Director
takiyah.jackson@berkeley.edu

Melissa Charles
Assistant Director
mcharles@berkeley.edu

Blake Simons
Assistant Director
bsimons@berkeley.edu

AMERICAN INDIAN GRADUATE PROGRAM

Carmen Foghorn
Director
carmenf@berkeley.edu

Cindy Andallo
Program Manager
candallo@berkeley.edu

ASIAN PACIFIC AMERICAN STUDENT DEVELOPMENT

Eunice Kwon
Director
eunicekwon@berkeley.edu

Miya Sommers
Program Specialist
miyasommers@berkeley.edu

CENTERS FOR EDUCATIONAL JUSTICE & COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT

Andrea Wilson
Administrative Assistant
andreawilson@berkeley.edu

CHICANX LATINX STUDENT DEVELOPMENT

Lupe Gallegos-Diaz
Director
lupeg@berkeley.edu

Evelyn Rojo
Program Coordinator
erojo@berkeley.edu

DATA ANALYSIS

Andrew Eppig
Institutional Research Analyst
aeppig@berkeley.edu

FACULTY AND DEPARTMENTAL DIVERSITY INITIATIVES

Amy Scharf
Director
ascharf@berkeley.edu

GENDER EQUITY RESOURCE CENTER

Billy Curtis
Director
billyc@berkeley.edu

cici ambrosio
Director of Women's Resources
ambrosio@berkeley.edu

MULTICULTURAL COMMUNITY CENTER

Elisa Diana Huerta
Director
elisahuerta@berkeley.edu

Rajelin Escondo
Assistant Director
rajelin@berkeley.edu

NATIVE AMERICAN STUDENT DEVELOPMENT

Phenocia Bauerle
Director
phenocia.bauerle@berkeley.edu

Jo-Joe Lee
Program Specialist
jojoe03@berkeley.edu

STAFF DIVERSITY INITIATIVES

Sid Reel
Director
sreel@berkeley.edu